TAPPI Awards Overview

Know someone who deserves an award?Submit a Name for Award Nomination. Nominations are due byAugust 1of each year for the award to be presented the following calendar year.

We can send you a reminder.

Online Application Nominations Pass Along Message YP of the Year Pass Along Message

Division Honors Manual

Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal Award


The award is accompanied by a cash honorarium, which has been approximately $60,000 - $80,000 in recent years.

Herman L. Joachim Distinguished Service Award

Established in 1983, this honor is presented to an individual for exemplary leadership who has significantly contributed to the advancement of TAPPI.

The award is accompanied by a cash honorarium, which has been approximately $50,000 - $70,000 in recent years.

Paul W. Magnabosco Outstanding Local Section Member Award

This award was established to recognize an individual whose outstanding leadership and exceptional service to one or more Local Sections has resulted in significant and demonstrable benefits to members.

The award is accompanied by a $2,500 cash honorarium.

TAPPI PIMA Executive of the Year Award

This award presented to senior-level executives in the pulp, paper, or converting industries for excellence in management and outstanding contributions to the industry as a whole.

TAPPI Young Professionals of the Year Award

This award recognizes Young Professionals employed in the global forest products, pulp, paper, tissue, packaging, and associated industries for their contributions in the following areas: Leadership, Community Service, Problem Solving Contributions to Scientific or Engineering Projects. Eligible nominees are age 35 or younger, with no more than 10 years of industry experience, and been a TAPPI member for a minimum of one year.

TAPPI Fellows

TAPPI Fellows are selected members chosen in recognition of meritorious service to TAPPI and the industry. The title Fellow is also conferred upon TAPPI Board chairs, vice chairs, and directors at the end of their terms of office, as well as Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal Awardees and Herman L. Joachim Distinguished Service Recipients.

Division Honors

Our Divisions grant awards to individuals in recognition of outstanding accomplishments or contributions to the industry’s technology or TAPPI. Each Technical Division may grant no more than one award for technical achievement and one for leadership and service per year. Some awards also are accompanied by a cash prize.

Nominations are due by August 1 each year. Complete the Nomination Form. Selection procedures are fully outlined in ourAssociation Awards Manual. For additional information, contact us at[email protected].

Inside this Section